2011 New Year’s Resolutions: HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR’S EVERYONE!!! 😀

Okie doke. I am SUPER PUMPED to write this post. Last year, I made 8 New Year’s Resolutions:

1. Get job, keep for at least 3 months
2. Finish bible
3. Learn to play and sing 10 songs on the piano
4. Learn to play and sing 9 songs on the guitar
5. Draw 15 pictures
6. Still have this blog up and running at end of the year
7. Write and be able to play and sing 1 song by me
8. Heal (with relationships) emotionally

I planned these at the beginning of last year. I wrote them all down, and broke them down into smaller steps. And for each small step I achieved, I rewarded myself by doing something I loved. Buying myself a treat, watching something I love, going out, etc. This served to motivate me. And behold! I achieved all of these goals, to a T. Now I trust myself to succeed in all my various endeavors. I ‘m not afraid to step out and go after my dreams. I know Jesus fuels my strength and optimism and will. This year, I added more God-centered goals:

1. Tell 40 people about Christ
2. AJ blog: 200 posts this year
3. Play music in 12 places this year
4. Try to find band/people to play with for awhile
5. Get half way through the bible again
6. Draw 4 pictures about God
7. Basically have poetry book finished
8. Heal emotionally
9. Social network more
10. Write/learn 4 songs on electric guitar.

The reason 8 is still there from last is year is because even though I did heal a TON last year, I want to keep improving until I feel absolutely perfect. I did awesome before, and I want to do it again. 🙂

I wholeheartedly believe I can do it. I am trying to please God, and I am certain he is behind me in these goals. It is important for us to set goals in our relationship with Christ, and to go after them with all our hearts. This helps us to become better Christians. We need to be constantly seeking to improve, attempting to become more and more like Christ. We are never finished with this; we are supposed to become more and more like him all our lives.

“Our faces, then, are not covered. We all show the Lord’s glory, and we are being changed to be like him. This change in us brings ever greater glory, which comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” 2 Corinthians 3:18

“My brothers and sisters, if people say they have faith, but do nothing, their faith is worth nothing. Can faith like that save them? A brother or sister in Christ might need clothes or food. If you say to that person, “God be with you! I hope you stay warm and get plenty to eat,” but you do not give what that person needs, your words are worth nothing. In the same way, faith by itself—that does nothing—is dead.

Someone might say, “You have faith, but I have deeds.” Show me your faith without doing anything, and I will show you my faith by what I do. You believe there is one God. Good! But the demons believe that, too, and they tremble with fear.

You foolish person! Must you be shown that faith that does nothing is worth nothing? Abraham, our ancestor, was made right with God by what he did when he offered his son Isaac on the altar. So you see that Abraham’s faith and the things he did worked together. His faith was made perfect by what he did. This shows the full meaning of the Scripture that says: “Abraham believed God, and God accepted Abraham’s faith, and that faith made him right with God.” And Abraham was called God’s friend. So you see that people are made right with God by what they do, not by faith only.

Another example is Rahab, a prostitute, who was made right with God by something she did. She welcomed the spies into her home and helped them escape by a different road.

Just as a person’s body that does not have a spirit is dead, so faith that does nothing is dead!” James 2:14-26

People act like you can say that you belong to God, that you have faith in him, and then do nothing. But faith and doing good works to reflect that faith, those 2 things work hand in hand. What you do helps with your faith. To say you have faith, but live like an island, not willing to influence anybody with it in any way, to change them and shape them and help them be on better terms with God, this doesn’t reflect faith. Your faith should influence what you do. And what you do will influence your faith. It not only will help others, but it will make you stronger and closer to God, too. You can’t change the world for Christ by sitting on your butt and doing nothing. Don’t say you have faith in him but then be willing to do nothing. That faith is dead!

Without this strong faith in Christ, I would have never been able to obtain my dreams. It is the new found strength that he has given me that allows me to work so hard and have a will so strong. Before I accepted him into my life, I would still be struggling just to achieve 1 or 2 of these goals. But the strength I have gained in him is so exponentially greater than my strength alone, that my success is a lot greater, too.

Good luck with your New Year’s Resolutions! Comment and tell me what they are, and I can pray for you. 🙂 Make sure to have some that will help improve your walk with Christ. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Woohoo, 2011!

3 Comments »

  1. Paper Tiger Press Said:

    A lot on your plate! Better a full plate than nothing at all! Best wishes completing/attempting/working at your goals in 2011. Happy New Year!
    Check out a Christian in Japan.

    • deadwednesdays Said:

      Thanks a lot! My mom always said “If I shoot for the moon but don’t make it, at least I will land on stars!” So even if I don’t complete all of them, I figure I’ll get through a lot of them, and that really is good enough for me. 😀

      I’m trying to test my boundaries and see how much I can handle, really. What is a Christian in Japan? I tried looking it up but I couldn’t find it, sorry.

  2. Paper Tiger Press Said:

    Well then land on stars! What ever you do keep active and never give up. Best wishes on braking through those boundaries!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

