Jesus is your: Love!

“But God shows his great love for us in this way: Christ died for us while we were still sinners.” Romans 5:8

I looove this verse! This to me shows so, so, so much love. Jesus died for us while we were still sinners. So he gave us everything- true hope, love, freedom, strength- by dying for us on the cross, while we were all still his enemies. He didn’t say, “well, y’all suck. You never listen to me, you are heartless and rude to each other. You are so selfish! I am perfect, I don’t have to do anything for you.”

No. He didn’t take one look at us, roll his eyes, and go back to heaven and have the easy way out. He loved us when it was difficult, when we were anything but easy to love. He died for us, longing to forgive us, despite our many flaws and shortcomings. Despite our nature to be greedy and selfish and only want what benefits us the most, regardless of if it crushes other people.

He never sinned, he deserved happiness and peace, not to suffer. But he didn’t take the easy way out. He chose death on a cross to peace and comfort, because that was the only way to rescue us from ourselves.

This is true love, loving one another, even when it is difficult. Being there for each other, through thick and thin. I felt some conviction when I understood this.

There are many periods in my life where I feel God isn’t there for me in the way I want him to be. I get lonely and desperate and that pain fuels my anger. Then I find myself beginning to push away from God. I think, “he doesn’t deserve me if he is going to make me suffer all alone.”

But I am so wrong! He loved us and gave his
entire heart to us, even when we forsook him for the pleasures of the world. He loved me when I was mean to people, when I lied, when I stole. He didn’t say “forget you, you’re horrible!!” He said:

“The Father gives me the people who are mine. Every one of them will come to me, and I will always accept them.”
John 6:37

He loved me when I was difficult and did nothing but sin. He loves you whenever you do nothing but sin. So I was convicted because I knew I had no right to forsake him when he made my life difficult, because I certainly made his life difficult (and continually do!).

I complicated his world. But he was okay with that! He didn’t give up on me, he showed me love. So I am learning that I can’t give up on him, and I show him love.This is true for the people in our lives, too. Yes, they may cause us drama and stress and constantly complicate our lives. But we should still love them, because Christ loved us. We shouldn’t give up on each other.

Leave a Reply

