Fear and Faith Co-exist

“And though it seems impossible that fear and faith can dwell in the same vessel at the same time and take up the same space, they co-exist all the time. They must. It is not faith on my part at all if I don’t choose to believe in the midst of ear and uncertainty… I think we have gotten the idea of ‘faith’ all wrong. Faith does not mean the absence of fear. Faith actually means choosing to trust in the midst of fear. It is admitting your fear and forging ahead toward an uncertain outcome, believing all the while that things will turn out right. God brings peace in the moment of panic seemingly out of nowhere- out of a dark and quiet corner of your heart you have not heard from in awhile. But right there, just in time, when you need it most, while the sky is falling and the bills keep coming and dark clouds keep gathering, peace comes. Faith wins out. Fear may not go away, but it is trumped by faith in the God who loves you and cares for your every need.” From Clayton King’s Dying to Live

I love reading his book. He is so right, 100%. Faith isn’t only trusting God when it’s convenient, when it’s easy for you. A lot of people wonder why God doesn’t seem to be there for them, and some want so much proof before they really believe in him. There is a huge disconnect between that person’s heart and God’s heart and his wonderful grace. That disconnect is not having enough faith.

People have to learn to trust God, even when it’s difficult, even when they aren’t exactly sure how things will turn out. All they have to be sure of is that God loves them and wants to take care of them, and be convinced that he will lead them to the right place at the right time. Faith in Christ is trusting him, even when you can’t see him, even when you don’t know exactly where he is taking you in life; just recognize that where he is taking you is for your ultimate good.

“These troubles come to prove that your faith is pure. This purity of faith is worth more than gold, which can be proved to be pure by fire but will ruin. But the purity of your faith will bring you praise and glory and honor when Jesus Christ is shown to you. You have not seen Christ, but still you love him. You cannot see him now, but you believe in him. So you are filled with a joy that cannot be explained, a joy full of glory. And you are receiving the goal of your faith—the salvation of your souls.” 1 Peter 1:7-9

At the time when I accepted Christ, I had to trust him where I had once tried to trust myself and had failed. I soon realized that his strength was better than my strength, and that he could take care of me better than anyone else could take care of me. It was scary, I wasn’t sure how things would turn out if I gave him complete control over my life, but I gave it a try. It seemed to be my only chance, my only hope for survival.

I was terrified that I would still feel alone, that all my pain would be the same, that I wouldn’t change internally. But God lead me to peace in the midst of all my fear. He healed me, he taught me, he gave me courage and love in the place of emptiness and hurt.

Even now in my walk with Christ, I trust him, even when I have constant fears. I fear I will lose my old friends now that I am in college, I am afraid that the next boy who breaks my heart will make me call it quits for good, that family stress will build up so much I will want to shoot myself (or at least everyone around me!) I’m terrified of being alone, of others who have love, of my emotions being completely out of whack and me crying all the time, that my anxiety might go up.

But I am trusting Christ. So often when I feel like I am about to lose it, I find something beautiful in Christ that I had not really noticed before, and that gives me strength and courage to face another day, to trust God more. The saying goes, “every cloud has a silver lining.” In the midst of panic and uncertainty, that silver lining is a quiet, yet strong peace in Christ, that begins to gush out and rush through my body and soul. But I have to trust him to experience it.

Folks! You have to jump before he can catch you, be willing to fall so that he can life you up. You have to have faith in the midst of fear, so that he can lead you and guide you to the right place, at the right time.

I quote him again:

“And though it seems impossible that fear and faith can dwell in the same vessel at the same time and take up the same space, they co-exist all the time. They must. It is not faith on my part at all if I don’t choose to believe in the midst of ear and uncertainty” Dying to Live

Go buy this book, it is a great book, and I feel stronger and closer to God because of it. Here!

2 Comments »

  1. cogs Said:

    wow, i couldn’t have said it better than you did. i am so thankful that god brought you to a point where you can trust him, and that he gives you great peace when you need it.
    i remember that joseph certainly didn’t get along with his brothers, but god had a plan to use their evil for great good. i think god has an overall huge picture of how he plans to use our adversities. so yes, faith in that fact is a comfort.
    i’ll pray for your current family stress, that god will intervene for you, and give you the strength, peace, and love to overcome.

    • deadwednesdays Said:

      Exactly! That’s why whenever I am struggling with something, I never truly give up hope. Because I know that in my struggle, I can still glorify God:

      2 Corinthians 12: 7-10 Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.

      And thank you for your current prayers. I will pray for you, too.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

