New Song- “In Between Days”

I recently wrote a song:

In between days
We fall into blackness
Going different ways
Soaked in all the sadness
Within all the grey
We wait in the madness
We are the broken pieces
Broken hearts
Left to protect ourselves
Or be lost in the dark

But Lord, you embrace us all
Cushion our fall
My family loved me
But still I died yesterday
And in this fast world
All the friends I’ve made
Said I’d always belong
Surrounded by everything
But inside, I felt alone
And these bullets of cold words and disconnection
Always seemed to graze
My heart, where no one noticed how it stopped
In between days

I’d lie down for hours
Just to cry
Only God noticed
I was so empty inside
They claimed I’d be happy
By having things
The more stuff I had
The more I felt empty
It’s about a heart feeling
When no one noticed
I trusted God instead
Because He sees

And these bullets of cold words and disconnection
Always seemed to graze
My heart, where no one noticed how it stopped
In between days
In between days

Copyright Jennifer Clayton

Listen! Not perfect, but I finally recorded it. Yay! Tell me what you think:

In Between Days

This song is about how before I met Christ and trusted him, I used to be in this world, surrounded by stuff, but always feeling empty. In between the days, no one noticed how I was so broken up inside.

Leave a Reply

