On Excellence part 2

I have been working at Chick-fil-A for about a year. It has been a great experience, and I want to relate it to being a disciple of Christ.

At Chick-fil-A, we aim for excellence. We are not allowed to settle for 2nd best. We are told to keep improving at whatever we do, taking care of customers to the fullest possible amount, and to be upbeat and smile. Our boss Jon Holmes would never lest us settle for being less than the best.

I believe Christians should be the same way: we should aim to be excellent. We should never settle for being 2nd best, we should do our job to the best of our abilities. What is our job as Christians? Go and make disciples! Bring people to Christ! Encouraging our brothers and sisters in Christ to not sin, to remain strong in their hearts while they pursue being like Christ.

Making sure we take care of ourselves when it comes to Jesus and heaven, doing all that he asks us to! We need to fight to win back a world lost in sin, and show everyone in Christ and not yet in Christ the love in the Lord. We need to love one another. All of this stuff is our job as Christians. We have to aim for excellence, putting our foot down in a powerful and effective way to a world that ignores us. We become excellence by striving to be more like Christ.

Personally, I aim for excellence at work by listening wholeheartedly to my managers, trying to do everything they ask to avoid trouble. I definitely listen to the boss when he tells me something, and I put what he says above what anyone else says. I try to go above and beyond to meet the needs of customers and to appear friendly and loving to show that I care. Surprise them with kindness: helping them carry their trays, smiling, making conversation, actually investing in each individual as much as I can, because this is part of our job. Our job is not just to take money and orders. We are to also exhibit this kindness and show how much we care, making people feel not just like a customer, but like they are at home.

For Christ, I aim for excellence by listening to those who are above me, such as pastors and people I see that are living for God. I keep in mind that they are not perfect, not always right, but I respect them and try to listen to them so I may learn how to become closer to God. I always listen to the boss man, who is God. I guess it would be boss men: The Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Whatever they say is above what anyone else tells me, because they are the ones who take the most and best care of me. My soul depends on their love and graciousness, so I will respect and listen to them.

I try to go up and beyond for my fellow Christians: not only talking about Jesus with them but also showing them his love through my actions: helping them when they are in need, guiding them when they get lost and need help in the faith, truly loving and being friends with them. I go up and beyond for them, so that they see the love of Christ shining bright in me.

I attempt to act humbly towards non-Christians; encouraging them, being friendly, and being there for them. This is because even as non-believers, they will begin to see the love of Christ in me, and this is what truly wins people to Christ: our actions, not just our words. You could shout at someone all day and they wouldn’t believe a word you said, but if you just showed them sincere kindness, the beauty of Christ flows right out of you, and it is really evident to them. It’s not always about talking the talk. You got to walk the walk!

“When you do things, do not let selfishness or pride be your guide. Instead, be humble and give more honor to others than to yourselves. Do not be interested only in your own life, but be interested in the lives of others.” Philippians 2:3-4

Leave a Reply

