On Excellence part 4

Another example of how much we deal with behind the scenes at work: One day, it got really busy at Chick-fil-A, and there were a lot of people in line. We kept taking orders, and had to also go get the trays of food and find all the people whose orders we took. This was after I had gotten out of school, and I am tired when I get out of school. I felt overwhelmed by the situation. I was doing good at taking orders and getting the food out.

But then one time, my manager came to me with this tray that she said was mine. She asked me who it belonged to, and I really had no idea. I told her that, and I went looking for the group of people. I had eventually found them, and then I returned to her. She called in a group of us girls and talked about how we need to take care of our customers.

She didn’t wanting us taking orders and not knowing who food belonged to. So she fussed at us a little, and we went back to work. But ever since that day, I’ve been thinking about it in terms of Christianity. At work, I was tired from school, we were busy, it was very hectic, and I was still expected to be excellent; still expected to take great care of customers.

I look at the work of Christ on the cross and see his beauty and his perfection, knowing all I can do is strive to be like him, even though I can never come even a little close to such perfection. As Christians, we get mocked sometimes, laughed at, called morons- I’ve been there. But we are called to humble ourselves, and hanging on to the love of Christ, still take care of people who call us names, who frustrate us or make our lives difficult.

We are called to ‘take care of our customers’, whether they be our family in Christ or those not yet a part of our family. He’s the boss, he calls the shots. I’m sure my boss at work would have told me the same thing my manager had said.

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember what I told you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also.” John 15:18-20

Jesus was persecuted, and we will be persecuted also. But we get his love and blessings and a breathtaking relationship with him in return.

Leave a Reply

