On Excellence part 8

At Chick-fil-A, doing what Jon Holmes tells us to do is our standard. With Christianity, Christ is our standard. At work, we can’t be perfect but we need to strive, strive, strive. Same is true with God. At work, we get a check for our hard work. With Christianity, we get infinite riches in heaven, get to live more fulfilling lives than others, lives filled with the love of an awesome Christ!

We must try hard not to get slack in our ways, and always remember what we have learned. It’s not an easy journey, being excellent for Christ, but I can promise it is worth it for the reward. Our reward is so much greater than the work we have to do. Jesus gives us everything so graciously and freely.

For the person who is thirsty and hungry for good food and desires good service, I recommend Chick-fil-A. People are friendly and genuine and it is a great family environment, and the food rocks!

For the person who is hungry for a better life, thirsty for something that will truly give them purpose, take away an empty void they feel; for the person who wants a relationship with the Lord of the universe and wants to be free from the fast pase lifestyle that never is really fulfilling, I recommend Jesus Christ:

“Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.'” John 6:35

“Jesus answered, ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’” John 4:13-14

“On the last and greatest day of the festival, Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, ‘Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.’” John 7:37-38

“He said to me: ‘It is done. I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End. To the thirsty I will give water without cost from the spring of the water of life.'” Revelation 21:6

While actual food makes our tummies happy for a little while, if we ‘eat and drink’ of Jesus, he will fulfill the emptiness in our hearts always. I know that there was always a roaming emptiness when I tried to live life by doing things the way society does things, by trying to live for me, focus on only the things I want, be in my own little world. When I made Christ my priority and I truly trusted him, the emptiness went away and was replaced with love and hope and a beautiful purpose. This is because I hungered for him, and he fulfilled my needs. He is the bread of life, he is living water.

Leave a Reply

