Anger and Bitterness part 1- Introduction

I think I decided my next series of lessons would be on anger and bitterness. Why? Because I am really struggling with these things when it comes to God, and what better way to face my problems than to talk about it? I once heard that when you try to teach something to someone else, you better understand it yourself. While you are attempting to explain it someone else, it starts to make more sense to you. And that’s my motivation. I would really like to get past this. I hope you would like to, too. 😀

A lot of people get angry at God. A lot of people get bitter. Christians recognize God as loving, but everyone hits points in their life when they have hardships. They begin to get frustrated with themselves, the world, and God. They start to think, “why is this happening to me? If God is so loving, why doesn’t he take care of me?”

This is also how non-Christians may see God. They look at the suffering in the world and think that there is no way that God could be real, because what kind of loving God would let the world suffer so much?

Someone you love dies. Someone breaks your heart. You don’t get what you want. Someone gets sick, divorced, you world falls apart. A lot of people end up getting angry and bitter when something bad happens in this world that they cannot control. I feel that way sometimes, thinking ‘I can’t control this. But you know who can? God. So this is obviously his fault.’ I feel that way a lot, when I am in so much emotional pain, I cry and I feel like I could die. It’s not fair. He knows how to take care of me, yet he refuses to do it.

Well, there are many ways to approach this issue. For one thing, it’s important to realize that it’s okay to be angry, in that we are human imperfect and can’t help being angry. Instead of playing it off like everything is okay when we feel horrible inside, we need to look at ourselves and acknowledge that something is wrong. A good friend of mine, who talks to me on my forum, had to keep reminding me of that. I am such a perfectionist at times, but we must realize that we are not perfect, and will never be. That’s why Jesus had to die for us, so he could achieve on the cross and through his perfect life what none of us could ever achieve alone. He bridged the gap between us and God, between our imperfection and God’s perfection. I am slowly learning that because God obviously knows that I am not perfect, he sees that I get frustrated and angry.

Another friend of mine told me that sometimes you just have to let it all out, you can’t keep it bottled up inside. You have to pour out your heart to God, let him know what is wrong and what’s going on in your world. He already knows what’s going on in your world, but you will feel much better just to tell him yourself. Don’t see away out of your misery? Confide in him. Even if you break down and cry, if something is bothering you, just be honest with him. He cares about you.

Now, sometimes I take this to the extreme, screaming at him in my head (and maybe cussing a little), and I’m not saying it’s right to blame him for everything or that you should disrespect him when you open up, saying he’s so wrong and whatnot. But just let him know how you really feel. Some people try to act like it’s wrong to ever be upset with God, to never have anything wrong in your world. Those people wouldn’t be acting very honestly if that’s what they say. It’s impossible to not be upset sometimes. It’s called being human.

Instead of looking at it likes it’s a bad thing to have things wrong in your world, I look at it this way: You have a best friend in the world. They make you really happy. But one day, they do something behind your back, and it really makes you angry. So you confront them and let them know what’s wrong, why you are so upset. Then you feel so much better. They are still your friend at the end of the day, you just hit a bump in a road.

Even though God is perfect, sometimes it seems like the things he does (or should I say things he doesn’t do) seem so wrong, it can just drive us nuts. So let him know how you feel, get past this bump in your relationship, and you can still have this wonderful companion at the end of it all. I believe that’s a better way to look at it.

He likes honesty. He likes when we call out for help, because that means we depend on him, it means we need him; when our world gets chaotic, we are forced to trust him because it’s out of our hands.

“Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:7-10

Paul is right. When we are weak, it gives God the chance to reveal his power through us. His strength shows in our weaknesses, as he demonstrates how he is in control of a world we obviously can’t control. God is glorified in our weaknesses, in this way. This not to say that he likes to see us suffer; because as a father, he can’t stand to see us suffer. But in some instances, it is necessary, as much as I hate to say it.

After letting him know how you feel, you have to eventually start to trust that he is looking out for you, that he knows what’s best for you. Not nearly as easy as it sounds. But I will explain how to get to this point in my next posts. :]

Leave a Reply

