Anger and Bitterness part 3- How to Cope

Alright. The tough, tough stuff. How do we cope with being bitter and anger at God? Because if we hold these feelings in too long, that bitterness becomes rage, and we start to hate God and anyone who stands for him. We’ve already acknowledged that we are humans, and that we will naturally become angry at God, even though we are technically wrong. But if you don’t take steps to consistently get rid of that anger, we can fall away from a faithful relationship with God. This is an example of what can happen if you let bitter feelings of God go too far: Are You Mad at God? an article by David Wilkerson.

I will attempt to explain this the best I can, as I battle against my selfishness and bitterness at God, to reach for a higher good. While I am explaining, I am also living it. So I pray that I can be a successful example, and I can show what really works.

1. First, I let God know what I am feeling in my heart. Though he already knows the struggles I deal with on a daily basis, I will feel like I can trust him more when I open up to him and say that I am hurting. I can get it off of my chest, and it will seem like he is more of a friend.

2. Then I pray about my issue. I pray that the Lord takes away my pain, that he heals my internal wounds, that he is glorified through me. Even if it is his will for me to suffer for the time being, I pray that I have strength to hold on to my faith until the end.

“Do not worry about anything, but pray and ask God for everything you need, always giving thanks. And God’s peace, which is so great we cannot understand it, will keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

3. I get into the word! I have this little book that is divided into sections. It has all kinds of bible verses for various situations. Verses for when I’m angry, rebellious, lonely, rejected, depressed, etc. I use this when I try to deal with my bitterness and anger at God because it’s a lot harder to search in the bible by yourself for verses that relate to you. They can be confusing or hard to come across- not to say that you shouldn’t try it, anyway. But when I am in a moment of desperation, I write out the various things bothering me, I may pray about it, and then I open this little booklet, and find verses that give me strength and peace and that disarm my huge bomb of anger. It can be difficult to get myself to do, but I definitely think it helps in the long run. It helps the bible to become more applicable to my everyday life, and so I find less and less reason to find it irrelevant, like a lot of people to day think. It makes God seem more alive and more ‘here’ to me, caring about how I feel. The book is called ‘God’s Promises for Every Day‘. You should invest in one! I want to live my life by God’s word, so this is a good way to do it.

4. Find Godly people who can help you with your struggles. Sometimes, we have questions that others know the answers to. They can offer guidance when we need it. They may have gone through a similar spell when they were upset with God, and found and effective way to deal with it. They will pray for us and with us, giving us encouraging words to hold onto our faith, and offer community where we can find strength. They give us hope that is harder to find when we are alone. They may be able to see ways out of our bitterness, while we can’t see them. We need a community of faith to keep us grounded and focused on the Lord. I am still struggling with this greatly, and I haven’t found many people that I can talk to about my struggles with bitterness with God. I have always had a horribly difficult time opening up to people, so this is certainly something that I am working on.

On my next post, I will continue on about how to cope with bitterness and anger.

Leave a Reply

