Depression part 2- But Sometimes it is our Fault

Sometimes, we get depressed because of events and circumstances that are out of our control. But sometimes, we get depressed because of the destruction sin has caused in our lives. I know this very well from experience.

I was falling in love with a guy who was with someone else, and I got really upset with him and the person he was with. But regardless of what happened, I was still in the wrong, living in jealousy and dealing with adultery. This caused me a boatload of pain that lasted for a long time. I woke up in distress, feeling depressed. Our sins can cause so much destruction in our lives.

So we have to be careful with our actions, be careful that we are living for the Lord. I eventually did stop feeling depressed because of that guy I liked, but it was only after I had started turning away from those feelings and started tuning down my desire for him, and all the bitterness slowly followed in leaving. I forgave myself and forgave him and anyone else I felt like was to blame. My depression left when I focused on something else, and started trying to live like Jesus would want me to again.

As Christians, we have to focus on what is eternal as opposed to what is temporary. Being Christian, I still have problems at home, at school, and at work. My family still suffers, we take notice of the effects of this failing economy. I still cry, I still hurt, I still get confused and feel lost at different points. I still get angry. But how am I different from the rest of the world? I realize that there is hope beyond what I see today. Living the Christian life doesn’t mean the absence of suffering. But it means that you find strength in the love of God, and you realize that your problems are only temporary. You are with the Lord, and as long as you are trying to live for him, he will not leave you behind.

“The ways of God are without fault. The Lord’s words are pure. He is a shield to those who trust him. Who is God? Only the Lord. Who is the Rock? Only our God. God is my protection. He makes my way free from fault. You give me a better way to live, so I live as you want me to.” Psalm 18:30-32, 36

So we have to turn away from whatever bad things we are doing. Stop desiring to have what others have, stop gossiping and saying bad about others. One thing I learned from loving that guy and then letting it go: when I let go of the desire and anger, the pain and bitterness let go of me!

When I stopped caring so much about being with him and I started focusing on my own life, I realized that I was less and less bitter as the days went by. I was less angry and annoyed. so let go of your sins and the consequences of that sin will eventually let go of you.

I also realized that God forgives me when I forgive others. So when I let go of that guy and forgave him and his partner and all those who made that experience horrible, I realized that God would forgive me for trying to impose on that relationship. God will treat us how we treat others, he is just in this way.

“But if we confess our sins, he will forgive our sins, because we can trust God to do what is right. He will cleanse us from all the wrongs we have done.” 1 John 1:9

“Don’t judge others, and you will not be judged. Don’t accuse others of being guilty, and you will not be accused of being guilty. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.” Luke 6:37

“I will forgive them for the wicked things they did, and I will not remember their sins anymore.” Hebrews 8:12

Forgive ourselves, forgive others, and seek forgiveness from God. Doing this helped to lessen my depression, and it can lessen yours, too.

Leave a Reply

