New Song- “Remember This”

A song I wrote about my grandma, who recently passed away from brain cancer. In my life, I like to take all things tragic and find something beautiful in them. I hated losing my grandma, but through it, God taught me to live life more urgently for Him.

I held you close
And kissed you forehead
And I said,
“I love you, goodbye”
Looking in your eyes
You looked at me
And said, “bye sweetie”

One wish
Please help me remember this
One kiss
To help me reminisce
Hold on to a moment of bliss
All of your happiness
Without the sickness
Please help me remember it

In the hospital
Looking out the window
The hours stretch on
I don’t want you to go
Bible in my hands
A prayer in my head
So many ‘I love you’s’
Left unsaid
Granny, my dear friend
Cancer steals you from my hand

One wish
Please help me remember this
One kiss
To help me reminisce
Hold on to a moment of bliss
All of your happiness
Without the sickness
Please help me remember it

We passed the pretty neighborhoods
Your neighbors seemed okay
But your grass was wild and crazy
House fading away
House of memories
With friends, good times with family
Daycare children ran happily
Summer camp in backyard fields of green
I remember your face
Remember your joy
My soul rings empty
For the sound of your voice

And I wish I could tell you
How much I love you
I saw His love
In the things you would do
There’s not always tomorrow
To share His grace
He only gives us this moment
Today

The day comes
Like a thief in the night
There is barely time
To say goodbye
We have only today
To live this life
To know His love
So we can be alive

One wish, please help me remember this
That His love surpasses all sickness

One wish, please help me remember this
That His love surpasses all sickness

I touched your soft hair
And kissed your forehead
I could guess
You have found your peace again

copyright Jennifer Clayton

Peace be with you, Granny. I love you.

2 Comments »

  1. God bless you and your family

    • Thank you so much. 🙂 Your kind words mean a lot to me. My family and me are doing the best we can with this.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

